The Houston Tigers had just won their first game of the season – a 69-68 thriller against Mansfield. Assistant coach Dustin Kirkman walked across the gym floor and high-fived members of the student section. He was clearly thankful for their support in the game. So was head coach Brent Hall.

After his final comments on the game, Hall asked to say a few words about the students, who wore black “sixth man” T-shirts and stood on their feet and cheered the entire game.

The students were especially loud as Mansfield’s Kyle Rummens stepped to the line with one second remaining. He had three foul shots to tie the game. With the students roaring, Rummens missed the final one, and the Tigers won.

“I’ve been here 14 years. I don’t recall a time it was louder or more spirited over there,” Hall said of the students. “I definitely want to thank them, and I hope they realize how big a part of the game they were tonight. I hope they can keep it up.”

