While the future of guns and gun control in the United States is yet to be determined, American citizens in all walks of life have recently done what I believe is a fine job of voicing their concerns about the issue – even in this publication.

So rather than attempt to add something where I feel like it’s pretty much all been said, I instead wrote a simple song in honor of the times in which we live. You can sing along if you like, because I’m sure you’ll know the melody.

The 12 Days of Gun Control

On the first day of gun control my true friend gave to me, a lever action Marlin 30-30.

On the second day of gun control my true friend gave to me, two gun safes, and a lever action Marlin 30-30.

On the third day of gun control my true friend gave to me, three shotguns, two gun safes, and a lever action Marlin 30-30.

Doug Davison

Doug Davison

On the fourth day of gun control my true friend gave to me, four 22s, three shotguns, two gun safes, and a lever action Marlin 30-30.

On the fifth day of gun control my true friend gave to me, five golden clips, four 22s, three shotguns, two gun safes, and a lever action Marlin 30-30.

On the sixth day of gun control, my true friend gave to me, six sniper scopes, five golden clips, four 22s, three shotguns, two gun safes, and a lever action Marlin 30-30.

On the seventh day of gun control, my true friend gave to me, seven new revolvers, six sniper scopes, five golden clips, four 22s, three shotguns, two gun safes, and a lever action Marlin 30-30.

On the eighth day of gun control, my true friend gave to me, eight range finders, seven new revolvers, six sniper scopes, five golden clips, four 22s, three shotguns, two gun safes and a lever action Marlin 30-30.

On the ninth day of gun control, my true friend gave to me, nine rifle cases, eight range finders, seven new revolvers, six sniper scopes, five golden clips, four 22s, three shotguns, two gun safes and a lever action Marlin 30-30.

On the tenth day of gun control, my true friend gave to me, 10 pistol grips, nine rifle cases, eight range finders, seven new revolvers, six sniper scopes, five golden clips, four 22s, three shotguns, two gun safes and a lever action Marlin 30-30.

On the eleventh day of gun control, my true friend gave to me, 11 armor targets, 10 pistol grips, nine rifle cases, eight range finders, seven new revolvers, six sniper scopes, five golden clips, four 22s, three shotguns, two gun safes and a lever action Marlin 30-30.

On the twelfth day of gun control, my true friend gave to me, 12 silver bullets, 11 armor targets, 10 pistol grips, nine rifle cases, eight range finders, seven new revolvers, six sniper scopes, five golden clips, four 22s, three shotguns, two gun safes and a lever action Marlin 30-30.

May your pistols never jam and your bullets fly true.

Thank you. Thank you very much.

Doug Davison is a writer, photographer and newsroom assistant for the Houston Herald. Email:  ddavison@houstonherald.com.

