My wife’s 16-year-old nephew is making his annual visit from suburban O’Fallon, Ill., and has been hanging out at our remote Texas County outpost for two weeks now.

The kid loves the Ozarks, and enjoys doing all the outdoor stuff that goes along with being here, like fishing, swimming, shooting and lounging by a fire pit on a cool June evening.

Just for fun, I wrote a little song in honor of his latest trip to south-central Missouri. Its melody would be something like Gene Autrey’s classic “Back in the Saddle Again.”

Not surprisingly, it’s called “Back in the Ozarks Again.”

 

I’m back in the Ozarks again,

Doug Davison

Doug Davison

Yes I’m back in the Ozarks again.

Oh a buzzard ate my sandwich,

and there’s crayfish in my shorts.

I’m back in the Ozarks again.

 

I’m back in the Ozarks again,

Yeah I’m back where the wild west begins.

I’ve got gravel in my nostrils,

and there’s seed ticks in my ears.

I’m back in the Ozarks again.

 

Oh there’s no place like the Ozarks

if you like the great outdoors,

And you just can’t beat Missouri

if you hate to do your chores.

So saddle up your donkey and grab your .22,

And let’s head out and find some great adventure.

 

I’m back in the Ozarks again.

Yes I’m back in the Ozarks again.

An oak branch crushed the well house,

and the driveway’s washed away.

I’m back in the Ozarks again.

 

I’m back in the Ozarks again,

Oh I’m back in the Ozarks again.

The cow dung smells like crazy,

and the cats tore up a bird.

I’m back in the Ozarks again.

 

Oh there’s no place like the Ozarks

if you like the great outdoors,

And you just can’t beat Missouri

if you hate to do your chores.

So fire up your pickup and throw the dog a bone,

And let’s head out and find some great adventure.

 

Aw, here we go…(solos: six-string guitar, followed by fiddle, wrapped up by banjo).

 

I’m back in the Ozarks again,

Oh I’m back in the Ozarks again.

The land of alligator snappers,

and grass that makes me sneeze.

I’m back in the Ozarks again.

 

I’m back in the Ozarks again,

Oh I’m back in the Ozarks again.

The barbed wire ripped my Wranglers,

And a snake is on the porch.

Yes I’m back in the Ozarks again.

 

And I love being here again.

 

Doug Davison is a writer, photographer and newsroom assistant for the Houston Herald.  Email:  ddavison@houstonherald.com.

 

